Tagged: Golden Robot Records

Mat Robins is one of the nicest guys in the Melbourne music scene and when he isn’t producing or helping other artists with their music he is busy with his own band – the might Cicadastone.

Well the boys have been hard at work over the past few months and the result is the magnificent new album – Cold Chamber. Recently Dave Griffiths sat down and had a chat with Mat to see what people can expect from the album.

Take a listen to the interview right here:






Album: Jefferson Starship

Date Of Release: 21st August 2020

Label: Golden Robot Records

Track Listing:

1. It’s About Time

2. What Are We Waiting For?

3. Setting Sun

4. Runaway Again

5. Embryonic Journey

6. Don’t Be Sad Anymore

7. What Are We Waiting For? (Extended Version)



You could forgive Jefferson Starship from not wanting to continue after the sad passing of Paul Kantner in 2016. Kantner was the heart and soul of the band, but upon his passing his family told the rest of the band that it was Kantner’s wish that the band keep going. The result of his wishes and that conversation is the Mother Of The Sun EP… an album that embraces the Jefferson Starship of the past but also shows that it has a bright future due to the talents of the current members.

The thing that hits you the hardest with this album is just how relevant it is to the world that we live in today. Tracks like “It’s About Time and “What Are We Waiting For?” are true anthems to our time. While Cathy Richardson wrote “It’s About Time” about equal rights for women in a year that saw Black Lives Matter marches and an intriguing US Presidential election its lyrics take on a whole new meaning. Just one listen to these two tracks and you just know that their catchiness grouped together with their thought-provoking lyrics means that they are going to be embraced by people right around the world as they look for hope in a year that they would rather forget.

Then comes the country rock vibe of “Setting Sun” and the piano-driven “Don’t Be Sad Anymore”, the latter again being a true song of reflection. As a way to show the true talents that lay in the new line-up of Jefferson Starship Jude Gold steps up and shows just what a guitar maestro he is with the instrumental “Embryonic Journey”, while “Ruaway Again” reveals the amazing vocal range of Cathy Richardson.

Not only does Mother Of The Sun give us two of the best tracks of the year with “It’s About Time” and “What Are We Waiting For” but also promises us all an exciting future for Jefferson Starship, a future that will see brilliant musicianship and lyrics that really make you stop and think about the world we live in today.


Rating (out of 5): 


THE CROOKS might just be the band to steal more than your attention they might just steal your soul, a case of grand larceny at its finest.

THE CROOKS a 5-Piece Indie rock band hailing from Chesterfield, England previously best known for the famous crooked spire of the Church of St Mary and All Saints but that has changed THE CROOKS have replaced the Crooked (from the Crooked spire) as the most admired attraction in Chesterfield.

Jacko, Chris Stones, Duncan Couch, Conor Fletcher and Jonathan Keeler are THE CROOKS and collectively they deliver a villainously huge melodic, anthemic wall of sound that will soon become embedded in your heart and etched in your mind forever.

THE CROOKS have just signed a world-deal with Golden Robot Records part of the Golden Robot Global Entertainment Group. Drawing influence from DMA’s, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Verve and co. topped off with a nicely adopted punk tinge, they’re a brand-new band with a fresh outlook on the classic timeless melody driven rock sound for 2020.

2019 saw the band release a plethora of singles, most recently an edgy rock anthem called Silhouette Sunshine. Silhouette Sunshine is the follow up single to the expressive and balladesque She Walks Alone which was released in January 2020 and shows a different side to the band. Over 26,000 plus streams in the first week on Spotify alone is an amazing achievement for a band that was only 9 months old. The track was also picked as ‘’This Feeling Track Of The Week’’ and played by RadioX (UK) DJ Gordon Smart.

THE CROOKS are currently averaging over 42,500 streams per week on Spotify alone and the bands social media has hit record numbers with most videos hitting well over 30,000 views and currently hitting over 200,000 views. 2019 saw THE CROOKS sell out shows in England and Scotland and took the industry by the scruff of the neck and they are not letting go in 2020.

‘’In all the years we have been working with bands and signing them to the group, I can’t remember being this excited about the potential of a new band and with the current state of the nation, the world needs The Crooks more than it will ever realise, the planets have finally aligned’’ – Mark Alexander-Erber President & Founder | Golden Robot Global Entertainment

THE CROOKS have received airplay around the globe and on national radio stations including RadioX, BBC Introducing and several stations in the U.S.A, South America and all over Europe. After a heathy 2019, 2020 looks to be the breakthrough year for the band as their fanbase continues to snowball