Tagged: Young Adult Fiction

 

Fans of Rachael Craw and YA can delight in the fact that her new book will be out this November!

Called The Rift, Craw’s new novel is written in the dark and mesmerising style that has earned her an eager following among the YA community in both Australia and New Zealand.

The story is set on Black Water Island, where terrifying creatures slip through a dimensional Rift every full moon. These creatures hunt the Old Herd, an ancient race of deer whose antlers carry a potent healing compound, Actaeon’s Bane. The Rangers of the Island have protected the Herd for millennia and face a new threat from a ruthless corporation, Nutris Pharmaceuticals, who will stop at nothing to acquire the compound.

Meg Archer, the estranged daughter of the cold and calculating Head Ranger, returns to the Island to settle debts. She is reunited with old friend Cal West, an apprentice Ranger with a rare scar and even rarer gifts. Their attraction is undeniable, but fraught with complications. Can they put their past mistakes behind them and face their darkest fears to save the Island from disaster?

Says Craw, “I could not be more excited to once again work with Walker Books Australia. It’s tremendous to have the enthusiastic support of a publisher who embraces my love of speculative fiction and my vision for this wild and mysterious story. I can’t wait for Spark fans to meet Meg Archer and Cal West as they explore the dark secrets of Black Water Island.”

Rachael Craw hit the scene with her debut novel Spark in 2014. Recently optioned for film, Spark is the first in an exciting YA/crossover series about genetically engineered individuals with superhuman abilities. Craw then completed the award-winning series with Stray in 2015 and Shield in 2016.

Linsay Knight, Publisher at Walker Books Australia says, “From the first moment we were sucked into the action of this mythic tale of drama and romance, an ancient curse and, best-of-all, a rift, I realised that fans of Rachael’s Spark series were in for a heart-stopping treat. Showcasing a strong female lead, this is storytelling at its very best.”